Margaret Atwood stamp unveiled by Canada Post

Margaret Atwood stamp unveiled by Canada Post
Margaret Atwood stamp unveiled by Canada Post

The stamp in question features a portrait of Margaret Atwood by renowned photographer Ruven Afanador. We can read a line from his poem Spelling : A word after a word after a word is power (translated as: Word after word after word is power).

I am very honored to be on this stamp Ms Atwood said in a humorous speech.

« I have received objections from friends who say I should be dead before I was put on a stamp. Even though I tell them, “How do you know I’m not?” It’s very nice to still be there to enjoy this experience. »

A quote from Margaret Atwood

Start of the Twitter widget. Skip the widget?End of Twitter widget. Back to the start of the widget?

Other guests took the floor to highlight the writer’s journey. Among them, filmmaker Sarah Polley, who adapted the novel Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood as a TV mini-series, as well as longtime activist and friend Ceta Ramkhalawansingh.

The stamp featuring Ms. Atwood is available online and at postal outlets across the country.

Other famous Canadians have recently been added to Canada Post’s stamp collection, including Indigenous singer-songwriter Buffy Sainte-Marie and actor Christopher Plummer.

Almost 60 years of career and 50 books to his credit

Today we recognize Ms. Atwood’s contribution to Canadian literature, said Valérie Chartrand, spokesperson for Canada Post, before adding that the company worked on the stamp for almost two years before it was unveiled.

« She is an author, a poet, a novelist who is extremely respected and who has won many awards. »

A quote from Valerie Chartrand

With a 60-year career and more than 50 books to her credit, Margaret Atwood is considered one of Canada’s most prolific writers.

Ms. Atwood began her writing career in the 1960s. She has written short stories, poems and many bestselling novels, including The Scarlet Maid (The Handmaid’s Tale), Captive (Alias ​​Grace) and The edible woman (The Edible Woman).

She has also received numerous awards, including the Booker Prize twice, in 2000 for The blind killer (The Blind Assassin) and in 2019 for Wills (The Testaments). She also won the Giller Prize in 1996 for Captive (Alias Grace).

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV What is happening at Immigration Canada?
NEXT Fire Hose Eyewitness Market Share Huge Growth By 2028, Regional Demand for Competitive Intelligence, Business Outlook and Innovations